Roae, Brooks Announce Low-Interest Loan to Assist Conneaut Lake Joint Municipal Authority
HARRISBURG — Rep. Brad Roae (R-Crawford/Erie) and Sen. Michele Brooks (R-Crawford/Mercer/Lawrence) today announced the Conneaut Lake Joint Municipal Authority has been awarded an $8.1 million low-interest loan to prevent environmental and safety risks to the community.

The Pennsylvania Infrastructure Investment Authority (PENNVEST) loan will be used to reroute an existing corroded force main near Conneaut Lake Dam and upgrade a pumping station to correct flow imbalances and prevent excessive wear on equipment.

“I’m pleased to support this important project as the lake serves as the public drinking water source for area residents,” Roae said. “Infrastructure projects are costly but necessary in order to protect the health and safety of not only the residents but also threatened and endangered species who call the dam area home. I will continue to fight to help our area secure state funding for vital projects such as this.”

The PENNVEST board approved the loan at a 1% interest rate for the first five years of the loan term and a 1.743% interest rate for the remaining 15 years.

“I’m happy to announce 2,700 households that receive wastewater collection from the Conneaut Lake Joint Municipal Authority will benefit from these improvements,” Brooks said. “Because the loan has such a low interest rate, it provides the grant equivalent of $4.1 million – creating a great opportunity to reduce user costs while increasing services.”

PENNVEST funds sewer, storm water and drinking water projects throughout the Commonwealth through low-interest loans and grants.

The 6th Legislative District includes the city of Meadville; Beaver, Conneaut, East Fairfield, East Fallowfield, East Mead, Fairfield, Greenwood, Hayfield, North Shenango, Pine, Randolph, Sadsbury, South Shenango, Spring, Summerhill, Summit, Union, Vernon, Wayne, West Fallowfield, West Mead and West Shenango townships; and Cochranton, Conneaut Lake, Conneautville, Linesville and Springboro boroughs in Crawford County and Conneaut, Elk Creek and Springfield townships and Albion and Cranesville boroughs in Erie County.

The 50th Senatorial District includes all of Crawford and Mercer counties. In addition, it encompasses the city of New Castle; and Hickory, Mahoning, Neshannock, North Beaver, Plain Grove, Pulaski, Scott, Shenango, Slippery Rock, Taylor, Union, Washington and Wilmington townships; and Bessemer, New Wilmington, S.N.P.J., South New Castle and Volant boroughs in Lawrence County.

Representative Brad Roae
6th District
Pennsylvania House of Representatives

Sen. Michele Brooks
50th District
Pennsylvania Senate

Media Contact: Tracy Polovick
717.260.6358 /